Query Reference—MH1

Provincial Hospital Mental Health Services Indicator Results

Sheets

Hospital Separations, Days Stayed and Separation Rate Involving Mental Illness/Addiction, by Province of Hospitalization

Pan-Canadian Hospital Separations, Days Stayed, Separation Rate, Median Days Stayed and Average Length of Stay Involving Mental Illness/Addiction

Separations, Days Stayed, Average Length of Stay and Median Days Stayed Involving Mental Illness/Addiction, by Province of Hospitalization

Separations, Days Stayed, Percentage of Total Separations and Percentage of Total Days Stayed in General Hospitals Involving Mental Illness/Addiction, by Province of Hospitalization (Age/Sex)

Separations, Days Stayed, Percentage of Total Separations and Percentage of Total Days Stayed in General Hospitals Involving Mental Illness/Addiction, by Province of Hospitalization (Diagnosis Category)

Pan-Canadian Separations, Days Stayed, Percentage of Total Separations and Percentage of Total Days Stayed in General Hospitals Involving Mental Illness/Addiction (Age/Sex)

Pan-Canadian Separations, Days Stayed, Percentage of Total Separations and Percentage of Total Days Stayed in General Hospitals Involving Mental Illness/Addiction (Diagnosis Category)

Factors That Affect Indicator Results

Many factors contribute to the observed variations in the analysis of indicators at the provincial/territorial and regional levels. These include, but are not limited to, geography, population health, provincial and regional health service resources, and health services administration, to name a few. It is very important to consider these factors and the effect they may have on indicator results when conducting comparative analyses. The variation in results between provinces/territories or between health regions suggests systematic differences in

  • Provincial/territorial or regional health policies, practices and resources;
  • Geography and urban/rural population distribution;
  • Environmental and socio-economic characteristics;
  • Types of patients served and acuity of illness;
  • The range of health services available beyond general and specialty psychiatric hospitals (such as community mental health services); and
  • Accessibility and awareness of alternative points of entry to the health system.

The above list suggests a few of the factors that should be considered when making provincial/territorial and/or regional comparisons.

Data Sources

  • Hospital Mental Health Database (HMHDB), CIHI
    • The HMHDB is a pan-Canadian database containing information on separations (discharges and deaths) involving mental illness from Canadian psychiatric and general hospitals. As only a small proportion of those living with mental illness/addiction receives treatment in hospital as inpatients, the HMHDB captures only a fraction of the services delivered for the treatment of mental illness/addiction.
  • Discharge Abstract Database (DAD)/Hospital Morbidity Database (HMDB), CIHI
  • Ontario Mental Health Reporting System (OMHRS), CIHI
  • Hospital Mental Health Survey (HMHS), CIHI
  • Population Estimates, Statistics Canada

Methodology Notes

  • As of 2011–2012, the following codes are used for inpatient separations (discharges and deaths) involving mental illness/addiction:
    • DSM-IV-TR: 290–319, 607.84, 608.89, 625.0, 625.8, and 780.09;
    • ICD-9-CM: 290–319 and 648.40–648.44; and
    • ICD-10-CA: F00–F99, G30, R41.0, R41.3 and O99.30.
  • For information on prior years, please contact the Mental Health and Addictions team at hmhdb@cihi.ca.
  • Fiscal years (April 1 to March 31) are used.
  • Separations by year are based on the date of discharge, not the date of admission.
  • Newborns are excluded.
  • The HMHDB is an event-based rather than a person-based database; individuals may be represented multiple times in the data.
  • Total Days Stayed may include days stayed that occurred prior to the fiscal year of separation.
  • Only cases with a primary diagnosis of mental illness/addiction on separation are included in the analyses.
  • Percentage of All Separations = Total separations in general hospitals for a primary diagnosis of mental illness/addiction ∕ Total separations in general hospitals for all primary diagnoses, by grouping (e.g. age, sex, province, diagnosis category).
  • Percentage of Total Days Stayed = Total days stayed in general hospitals for a primary diagnosis of mental illness/addiction ∕ Total days stayed in general hospitals for all primary diagnoses, by grouping (e.g. age, sex, province, diagnosis category).

2012–2013 Diagnostic Groupings

 

Diagnosis Category Subcategory DSM-IV-TR Code ICD-9-CM Code ICD-10-CA Code
Organic Disorders Senile and pre-senile psychotic conditions 290.40–290.43 290.0, 290.10–290.13, 290.20–290.21, 290.3, 290.40–290.43, 290.8–290.9 F00–F09, F53.1, G30, R41.3
Transient organic psychotic conditions 293.0, 293.9 293.0, 293.1, 293.81–293.84, 293.89,  293.9
Other organic psychotic conditions 294.0, 294.8, 294.10, 294.11, 294.9, 310.1, 780.09 294.0, 294.1, 294.8, 294.9
Substance-Related Disorders Alcoholic psychoses 291.0–291.9  291.0–291.5, 291.81, 291.89, 291.9 F10–F19, F55
Drug psychoses 292.0, 292.11, 292.12, 292.81, 292.82–292.84, 292.85, 292.89, 292.9 292.0, 292.11–292.12, 292.2, 292.81–292.84, 292.89, 292.9
Alcohol dependence 303.00, 303.90 303.00–303.03, 303.90–303.93    
Drug dependence 304.00, 304.10, 304.20, 304.30, 304.40, 304.50, 304.60, 304.80, 304.90, 305.1 304.00–304.03, 304.10–304.13, 304.20–304.23, 304.30–304.33, 304.40–304.43, 304.50–304.53, 304.60–304.63, 304.70–304.73, 304.80–304.83, 304.90–304.93
Nondependent abuse of drugs 305.00, 305.20, 305.30, 305.40, 305.50, 305.60, 305.70, 305.90 305.00–305.03, 305.1, 305.20–305.23, 305.30–305.33, 305.40–305.43, 305.50–305.53, 305.60–305.63, 305.70–305.73, 305.80–305.83, 305.90–305.93
Schizophrenic and Psychotic Disorders Schizophrenia 295.10, 295.20, 295.30, 295.40, 295.60, 295.70, 295.90 295.00–295.05, 295.10–295.15, 295.20–295.25, 295.30–295.35, 295.40–295.45, 295.50–295.55, 295.60–295.65, 295.70–295.75, 295.80–295.85, 295.90–295.95 F20–F29, R41.0 
Psychotic 298.8, 298.9 298.8, 298.9
Paranoia, delusional disorders, other psychoses 297.1, 297.3, 293.81, 293.82 297.0–297.3, 297.8, 297.9, 298.0–298.4
Mood Disorders Bipolar 296.00–296.06, 296.40–296.46, 296.50–296.56, 296.60–296.66, 296.7, 296.80, 296.89, 301.13 296.00–296.06, 296.10–296.16, 296.40–296.46, 296.50–296.56, 296.60–296.66, 296.7, 296.80–296.82, 296.89 F30–F31 
Depression 296.20–296.26, 296.30–296.36, 300.4, 311 296.20–296.26, 296.30–296.36, 300.4, 311 F32–F33, F34.1, F53.0
Other 293.83, 296.90 296.90, 296.99 F34.0, F34.8, F34.9, F38, F39
Anxiety Disorders Anxiety 300.00–300.02, 300.21–300.23, 300.29, 300.3, 309.21 300.00–300.02, 300.09, 300.20–300.23, 300.29, 300.3, 309.81 F40–F42, F93.0–F93.2
Acute stress 293.84, 293.89, 308.3, 309.81 308.0–308.4, 308.9 F43.0, F43.1, F43.8, F43.9
Personality Disorders Personality disorders 301.0, 301.20, 301.22, 301.4, 301.50, 301.6, 301.7, 301.81–301.83, 301.9 301.0, 301.10–301.13, 301.20–301.22, 301.3, 301.4, 301.50–301.51, 301.59, 301.6, 301.7, 301.81–301.84, 301.89, 301.9 F60–F62, F68–F69
Other Disorders Adjustment disorders 309.0, 309.24, 309.28, 309.3, 309.4, 309.9 309.0–309.1, 309.21–309.24, 309.28–309.29, 309.3–309.4, 309.82–309.83, 309.89, 309.9 F43.2, F99
Physiological malfunction arising from mental factors 307.80, 307.89 306.0–306.4, 306.50–306.53, 306.59, 306.6–306.9  F59 
Sexual disorders 302.2–302.4, 302.70–302.76, 302.79, 302.81–302.85, 302.89, 302.9, 306.51, 607.84, 608.89, 625.0, 625.8 302.0–302.4, 302.50–302.53, 302.6, 302.70–302.76, 302.79, 302.81–302.85, 302.89, 302.9 F52, F64, F65, F66
Dissociative and factitious disorders 300.12–300.16, 300.19, 300.6 300.10–300.16, 300.19, 300.6 F44, F48.1
Somatoform disorders 300.11, 300.7, 300.81, 300.82 300.7, 300.81–300.82, 300.89, 300.9, 307.80–307.81, 307.89 F45 
Eating disorders 307.1, 307.50, 307.51  307.1, 307.50–307.54, 307.59 F50
Disorders of infancy, childhood, adolescence, and developmental disorders 299.00, 299.10, 299.80, 302.6, 307.0, 307.20–307.23, 307.3, 307.52, 307.53, 307.59, 307.6, 307.7, 307.9, 309.21, 312.81, 312.82, 312.89, 312.9, 313.23, 313.81, 313.82, 313.89, 313.9, 314.00, 314.01, 314.9, 315.00, 315.1, 315.2, 315.31, 315.32, 315.39, 315.4, 315.9, 317, 318.0–318.2, 319 299.00–299.01, 299.10–299.11, 299.80–299.81, 299.90–299.91, 307.20–307.23, 307.0, 307.3, 307.6, 307.7, 307.9, 309.21–309.22, 312.00–312.03, 312.10–312.13, 312.20–312.23, 312.4, 312.81, 312.82, 312.89, 312.9, 313.0, 313.1, 313.21–313.23, 313.3, 313.81–313.83, 313.89, 313.9, 314.00–314.01, 314.1–314.2, 314.8–314.9, 315.00–315.02, 315.09, 315.1, 315.2, 315.31–315.32, 315.39, 315.4, 315.5, 315.8, 315.9, 317, 318.0–318.2, 319 F70–F73, F78–F79, F80–F89, F90, F91–F92, F93.0, F93.3, F93.8–F93.9, F94, F95, F98
Sleep disorders 307.42, 307.44–307.47 307.40–307.49 F51
Impulse control disorders 312.30–312.34, 312.39  312.30–312.35, 312.39 F63 
Mental disorders due to a general medical condition not elsewhere classified 290.40–290.43, 316 290.40–290.43, 310.0–310.2, 310.8, 310.9, 316 F54
All other psychiatric disorders 300.9 300.5, 648.40–648.44 F48.0, F48.8, F48.9, F53.8, F53.9, O99.3

Notes
The following codes may be found in more that one category in the above grouping table: DSM-IV-TR—290.40, 290.41, 290.42, 290.43, 309.21; ICD-9-CM—290.40, 290.41, 290.42, 290.43, 309.21, 309.22; ICD-10-CA—F93.0. To avoid double-couting separations, these codes have been grouped to only one broad mental health category within the Hospital Mental Health Database (HMHDB). The volume of separations for these codes is very low (ranging from 0 to 35 nationally for the 2011–2012 data year); consequently, the impact on categorization to one category versus another is minimal.

Diagnostic groupings correspond to 2012–2013 data. For information on diagnostic groupings for prior years, please contact the Mental Health and Addictions team at hmhdb@cihi.ca.

Crude/Standardized Rate Calculations

  • For 2006–2007, 2007–2008, 2008–2009, 2009–2010, 2011–2012 and 2012–2013, crude rate calculations at the provincial/territorial level are based on population estimates from Statistics Canada as of July 1, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2012, respectively.
  • For 2010–2011, crude rate calculations at the provincial/territorial level are based on population estimates from Statistics Canada as of October 1, 2010.
  • For 2006–2007, 2007–2008, 2008–2009, 2009–2010, 2011–2012 and 2012–2013, crude rate calculations at the regional level are based on population estimates from Statistics Canada as of July 1, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2012, respectively.
  • For 2010–2011, crude rate calculations at the regional level are based on population estimates from Statistics Canada as of October 1, 2010.
  • Standardized rates are age-adjusted using a direct method of standardization based on the July 1, 1991, Canadian population.
  • Additional information regarding population estimates is available on Statistics Canada’s website.

Interpretation of Data

The basic unit of observation is the discharge abstract or the record of an inpatient’s stay in a psychiatric(i) or general(ii) hospital. The discharge abstract is completed at separation (discharge or death). Records are grouped into fiscal years based on the inpatient’s date of separation from the hospital. If an individual was hospitalized more than once in the same fiscal year, a separate record for each stay was submitted. Hence the basic units of observation are events, not unique patients. If an inpatient was admitted prior to the beginning of a fiscal year, the days stayed prior to the year of separation are included in the total days stayed for that event.

Figures are based on the primary diagnosis or the diagnosis that contributed most to the patient’s length of stay during that hospitalization period.

Contact Details

Canadian Institute for Health Information
495 Richmond Road, Suite 600
Ottawa, Ontario  K2A 4H6
Phone: 613-241-7860
Fax: 613-241-8120

  1. For more information about the Hospital Mental Health Database, please send an email to hmhdb@cihi.ca.
  2. For assistance using interactive CIHI data, please send an email to help@cihi.ca.
  3. All other inquiries can be directed to:

Last Updated: October 23, 2014


(i) In Canada, there is no standard definition of a psychiatric hospital. For the purposes of this report, psychiatric hospitals are medical hospitals that provide psychiatric services on an inpatient and/or outpatient basis and that have been identified by the provinces or CIHI.

(ii) For the purposes of this report, a general hospital is a publicly funded hospital that provides primarily for the diagnosis and treatment of inpatients and clients with a wide range of diseases or injuries. The services of a general hospital are not restricted to a specific age group or sex. Within the HMHDB frame, facility types such as non-teaching general hospitals with or without long-term care units, pediatric hospitals, teaching general hospitals and specialty institutions (cancer, cardiology, maternity, extended and chronic care, rehabilitation, neurological, orthopedic, etc.) are included. Contact CIHI for more information about the facilities included in the HMHDB frame.

Résultats des indicateurs provinciaux sur la santé mentale en milieu hospitalier

Référence de l'interrogation — MH1

Résultats des indicateurs provinciaux sur la santé mentale en milieu hospitalier

Documents

Sorties des hôpitaux, nombre de jours d'hospitalisation et taux de sorties, maladies mentales ou toxicomanie, selon la province d'hospitalisation

Sorties des hôpitaux à l'échelle pancanadienne, nombre de jours d'hospitalisation, taux de sorties, nombre médian de jours d'hospitalisation et durée moyenne du séjour, maladies mentales ou toxicomanie

Sorties, nombre de jours d'hospitalisation, durée moyenne du séjour et nombre médian de jours d'hospitalisation, maladies mentales ou toxicomanie, selon la province d'hospitalisation

Sorties, nombre de jours d'hospitalisation, pourcentage du nombre total de sorties et pourcentage du nombre total de jours d'hospitalisation dans les hôpitaux généraux, maladies mentales ou toxicomanie, selon la province d'hospitalisation (âge et sexe)

Sorties, nombre de jours d'hospitalisation, pourcentage du nombre total de sorties et pourcentage du nombre total de jours d'hospitalisation dans les hôpitaux généraux, maladies mentales ou toxicomanie, selon la province d'hospitalisation (catégorie de diagnostic)

Sorties à l'échelle pancanadienne, nombre de jours d'hospitalisation, pourcentage du nombre total de sorties et pourcentage du nombre total de jours d'hospitalisation dans les hôpitaux généraux, maladies mentales ou toxicomanie (âge et sexe)

Sorties à l'échelle pancanadienne, nombre de jours d'hospitalisation, pourcentage du nombre total de sorties et pourcentage du nombre total de jours d'hospitalisation dans les hôpitaux généraux, maladies mentales ou toxicomanie (catégorie de diagnostic)

Facteurs influant sur les résultats des indicateurs

Plusieurs facteurs contribuent aux variations dans les résultats de l'analyse des indicateurs à l'échelle provinciale ou territoriale et régionale, notamment la géographie, la santé de la population, les ressources provinciales et régionales en services de santé et l'administration de services de santé, pour n'en citer que quelques-uns. Dans le cadre d'analyses comparatives, il est très important de tenir compte de ces facteurs et de leur incidence éventuelle sur les résultats des indicateurs. Les écarts observés dans les résultats d'une province ou d'un territoire à l'autre ou d'une région sanitaire à l'autre suggèrent les différences systématiques suivantes :

  • politiques, pratiques et ressources provinciales, territoriales ou régionales liées à la santé;
  • lieu géographique et répartition de la population urbaine et rurale;
  • caractéristiques environnementales et socioéconomiques;
  • types de patients traités et gravité de la maladie;
  • gamme des services de santé disponibles outre les services dispensés dans les hôpitaux généraux et psychiatriques spécialisés (comme les services communautaires de santé mentale);
  • accessibilité et sensibilisation aux autres points d’entrée dans le système de santé.

La liste ci-dessus présente quelques-uns des facteurs qui devraient être pris en considération dans les comparaisons à l'échelle des provinces et territoires ou des régions.

Sources des données

  • Base de données sur la santé mentale en milieu hospitalier (BDSMMH), ICIS
    • La BDSMMH est une base de données pancanadienne sur les sorties (congés et décès) associées aux maladies mentales dans les hôpitaux psychiatriques et généraux canadiens. Étant donné qu'une faible proportion seulement des personnes atteintes d'une maladie mentale ou de toxicomanie sont hospitalisées, la BDSMMH ne renferme qu'une fraction des services offerts aux fins du traitement des maladies mentales et de la toxicomanie.
  • Base de données sur les congés des patients (BDCP) et Base de données sur la morbidité hospitalière (BDMH), ICIS
  • Système d'information ontarien sur la santé mentale (SIOSM), ICIS
  • Enquête sur la santé mentale en milieu hospitalier (ESMH), ICIS
  • Estimations démographiques, Statistique Canada

Notes méthodologiques

  • Les codes suivants sont utilisés depuis 2011-2012 pour les sorties (congés et décès) de patients souffrant de maladies mentales ou de toxicomanie :
    • DSM-IV-TR : 290-319, 607.84, 608.89, 625.0, 625.8, et 780.09;
    • ICD-9-CM : 290-319 et 648.40-648.44;
    • CIM-10-CA : F00-F99, G30, R41.0, R41.3 et O99.30.
  • Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les années antérieures, veuillez communiquer avec l'équipe Santé mentale et Toxicomanie à bdsmmh@icis.ca.
  • Les exercices financiers (1er avril au 31 mars) sont utilisés.
  • Les sorties par année sont établies en fonction de la date de sortie, et non de la date d'admission.
  • Les nouveau-nés sont exclus.
  • Comme la BDSMMH repose sur les événements plutôt que sur les personnes, ces dernières peuvent être représentées plusieurs fois dans les données.
  • Le nombre total de jours d’hospitalisation peut comprendre des jours d'hospitalisation antérieurs à l'exercice au cours duquel a eu lieu la sortie.
  • Seuls les cas où le diagnostic principal correspond à une maladie mentale ou à la toxicomanie à la sortie sont inclus dans l'analyse.
  • Le pourcentage de toutes les sorties correspond au nombre total de sorties des hôpitaux généraux pour un diagnostic principal de maladie mentale ou de toxicomanie, divisé par le nombre total de sorties des hôpitaux généraux pour tous les diagnostics principaux, par groupes (âge, sexe, province, catégorie de diagnostic, etc.).
  • Le pourcentage du nombre total de jours d'hospitalisation correspond au nombre total de jours d'hospitalisation dans les hôpitaux généraux pour un diagnostic principal de maladie mentale ou de toxicomanie, divisé par le nombre total de jours d'hospitalisation dans les hôpitaux généraux, par groupes (âge, sexe, province, catégorie de diagnostic, etc.).

Regroupements selon le diagnostic 2012-2013

Catégorie de diagnostic Sous-catégorie Code du DSM-IV-TR Code de l'ICD-9-CM Code de la
CIM-10-CA
Troubles organiques Troubles psychotiques séniles et préséniles 290.40–290.43 290.0, 290.10–290.13, 290.20–290.21, 290.3, 290.40–290.43, 290.8–290.9 F00–F09, F53.1, G30, R41.3
Troubles psychotiques organiques transitoires 293.0, 293.9 293.0, 293.1, 293.81–293.84, 293.89, 293.9
Autres troubles psychotiques organiques 294.0, 294.8, 294.10, 294.11, 294.9, 310.1, 780.09 294.0, 294.1, 294.8, 294.9
Troubles liés à l'utilisation de substances psychotropes Psychoses alcooliques 291.0–291.9 291.0–291.5, 291.81, 291.89, 291.9 F10–F19, F55
Psychoses dues aux drogues 292.0, 292.11, 292.12, 292.81, 292.82–292.84, 292.85, 292.89, 292.9 292.0, 292.11–292.12, 292.2, 292.81–292.84, 292.89, 292.9
Syndrome de dépendance alcoolique 303.00, 303.90 303.00–303.03, 303.90–303.93
Pharmacodépendance 304.00, 304.10, 304.20, 304.30, 304.40, 304.50, 304.60, 304.80, 304.90, 305.1 304.00–304.03, 304.10–304.13, 304.20–304.23, 304.30–304.33, 304.40–304.43, 304.50–304.53, 304.60–304.63, 304.70–304.73, 304.80–304.83, 304.90–304.93
Abus de drogues chez une personne non dépendante 305.00, 305.20, 305.30, 305.40, 305.50, 305.60, 305.70, 305.90 305.00–305.03, 305.1, 305.20–305.23, 305.30–305.33, 305.40–305.43, 305.50–305.53, 305.60–305.63, 305.70–305.73, 305.80–305.83, 305.90–305.93
Troubles schizophréniques et psychotiques Schizophrénie 295.10, 295.20, 295.30, 295.40, 295.60, 295.70, 295.90 295.00–295.05, 295.10–295.15, 295.20–295.25, 295.30–295.35, 295.40–295.45, 295.50–295.55, 295.60–295.65, 295.70–295.75, 295.80–295.85, 295.90–295.95 F20–F29, R41.0 
Psychoses 298.8, 298.9 298.8, 298.9
Paranoïa, troubles délirants, autres psychoses 297.1, 297.3, 293.81, 293.82 297.0–297.3, 297.8, 297.9, 298.0–298.4
Troubles de l'humeur Troubles bipolaires 296.00–296.06, 296.40–296.46, 296.50–296.56, 296.60–296.66, 296.7, 296.80, 296.89, 301.13 296.00–296.06, 296.10–296.16, 296.40–296.46, 296.50–296.56, 296.60–296.66, 296.7, 296.80–296.82, 296.89 F30–F31
Dépression 296.20–296.26, 296.30–296.36, 300.4, 311 296.20–296.26, 296.30–296.36, 300.4, 311 F32–F33, F34.1, F53.0
Autres 293.83, 296.90 296.90, 296.99 F34.0, F34.8, F34.9, F38, F39
Troubles anxieux Anxiété 300.00–300.02, 300.21–300.23, 300.29, 300.3, 309.21 300.00–300.02, 300.09, 300.20–300.23, 300.29, 300.3, 309.81 F40–F42, F93.0–F93.2
Réaction aiguë au stress 293.84, 293.89, 308.3, 309.81 308.0–308.4, 308.9 F43.0, F43.1, F43.8, F43.9
Troubles de la personnalité Troubles de la personnalité 301.0, 301.20, 301.22, 301.4, 301.50, 301.6, 301.7, 301.81–301.83, 301.9 301.0, 301.10–301.13, 301.20–301.22, 301.3, 301.4, 301.50–301.51, 301.59, 301.6, 301.7, 301.81–301.84, 301.89, 301.9 F60–F62, F68–F69
Autres troubles Troubles de l'adaptation 309.0, 309.24, 309.28, 309.3, 309.4, 309.9 309.0–309.1, 309.21–309.24, 309.28–309.29, 309.3–309.4, 309.82–309.83, 309.89, 309.9 F43.2, F99
Dysfonctionnement physiologique associé à des facteurs psychiques 307.80, 307.89 306.0–306.4, 306.50–306.53, 306.59, 306.6–306.9  F59 
Troubles sexuels 302.2–302.4, 302.70–302.76, 302.79, 302.81–302.85, 302.89, 302.9, 306.51, 607.84, 608.89, 625.0, 625.8 302.0–302.4, 302.50–302.53, 302.6, 302.70–302.76, 302.79, 302.81–302.85, 302.89, 302.9 F52, F64, F65, F66
Troubles dissociatifs et factices 300.12–300.16, 300.19, 300.6 300.10–300.16, 300.19, 300.6 F44, F48.1
Troubles somatoformes 300.11, 300.7, 300.81, 300.82 300.7, 300.81–300.82, 300.89, 300.9, 307.80–307.81, 307.89 F45 
Troubles de l'alimentation 307.1, 307.50, 307.51  307.1, 307.50–307.54, 307.59 F50
Troubles du nourrisson, de l'enfance ou de l'adolescence, et troubles du développment psychologique 299.00, 299.10, 299.80, 302.6, 307.0, 307.20–307.23, 307.3, 307.52, 307.53, 307.59, 307.6, 307.7, 307.9, 309.21, 312.81, 312.82, 312.89, 312.9, 313.23, 313.81, 313.82, 313.89, 313.9, 314.00, 314.01, 314.9, 315.00, 315.1, 315.2, 315.31, 315.32, 315.39, 315.4, 315.9, 317, 318.0–318.2, 319 299.00–299.01, 299.10–299.11, 299.80–299.81, 299.90–299.91, 307.20–307.23, 307.0, 307.3, 307.6, 307.7, 307.9, 309.21–309.22, 312.00–312.03, 312.10–312.13, 312.20–312.23, 312.4, 312.81, 312.82, 312.89, 312.9, 313.0, 313.1, 313.21–313.23, 313.3, 313.81–313.83, 313.89, 313.9, 314.00–314.01, 314.1–314.2, 314.8–314.9, 315.00–315.02, 315.09, 315.1, 315.2, 315.31–315.32, 315.39, 315.4, 315.5, 315.8, 315.9, 317, 318.0–318.2, 319 F70–F73, F78–F79, F80–F89, F90, F91–F92, F93.0, F93.3, F93.8–F93.9, F94, F95, F98
Troubles du sommeil 307.42, 307.44–307.47 307.40–307.49 F51
Troubles des habitudes et des impulsions 312.30–312.34, 312.39  312.30–312.35, 312.39 F63 
Troubles mentaux dus à un état médical général non classés ailleurs 290.40-290.43, 316 290.40-290.43, 310.0-310.2, 310.8, 310.9, 316 F54
Tout autre trouble psychiatrique 300.9 300.5, 648.40–648.44 F48.0, F48.8, F48.9, F53.8, F53.9, O99.3

Remarques
Les codes suivants peuvent se trouver sous plus d'une catégorie dans le tableau ci-dessus : DSM-IV-TR — 290.40, 290.41, 290.42, 290.43 et 309.21; ICD-9-CM — 290.40, 290.41, 290.42, 290.43, 309.21 et 309.22; ICD-10-CA — F93.0. Afin d'éviter le comptage en double des sorties, nous avons regroupé ces codes sous une seule catégorie générale de troubles mentaux dans la Base de données sur la santé mentale en milieu hospitalier (BDSMMH). Le volume de sorties associé à ces codes étant très faible (0 à 35 à l'échelle nationale pour l'année de données 2011-2012), le classement des codes sous une catégorie ou une autre n'a que peu d'incidence.

Les regroupements selon le diagnostic correspondent aux données de 2012-2013. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les regroupements selon le diagnostic des années antérieures, communiquez avec l'équipe Santé mentale et Toxicomanie à bdsmmh@icis.ca.

Calcul des taux bruts et normalisés

  • Le calcul des taux bruts de 2006-2007, 2007-2008, 2008-2009, 2009-2010, 2011-2012 et 2012-2013 à l’échelle provinciale et territoriale est basé sur des estimations démographiques de Statistique Canada datant du 1er juillet 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 et 2012, respectivement.
  • Le calcul des taux bruts de 2010-2011 à l’échelle provinciale et territoriale est basé sur des estimations démographiques de Statistique Canada datant du 1er octobre 2010.
  • Le calcul des taux bruts de 2006-2007, 2007-2008, 2008-2009, 2009-2010, 2011-2012 et 2012-2013 à l’échelle régionale est basé sur des estimations démographiques de Statistique Canada datant du 1er juillet 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 et 2012, respectivement.
  • Le calcul des taux bruts de 2010-2011 à l’échelle régionale est basé sur des estimations démographiques de Statistique Canada datant du 1er octobre 2010.
  • Les taux normalisés sont ajustés selon l’âge à l’aide d’une méthode directe de normalisation selon la population canadienne au 1er juillet 1991.
  • Le site Web de Statistique Canada contient des renseignements supplémentaires sur les estimations démographiques.

Interprétation des données

L'unité d'observation de base est l'abrégé de sortie ou le dossier d'un patient hospitalisé dans un hôpital psychiatrique(i) ou général(ii). L'abrégé de sortie est rempli à la sortie (congé ou décès). Les dossiers sont regroupés par exercices en fonction de la date de sortie de l'hôpital des patients. Un dossier distinct est soumis pour chaque séjour d'un patient qui a été hospitalisé plus d'une fois au cours du même exercice. Les unités d'observation de base représentent donc des événements et non des patients. Lorsqu'un patient a été admis avant le début d'un exercice, le nombre de jours d'hospitalisation qui précèdent l'exercice au cours duquel a eu lieu la sortie est inclus dans le nombre total de jours d'hospitalisation relatif à cet événement.

Les chiffres sont calculés en fonction du diagnostic principal ou du diagnostic responsable de la plus grande proportion du séjour du patient au cours de cette période d'hospitalisation.

Personnes-ressources

  1. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements en ce qui concerne la Base de données sur la santé mentale en milieu hospitalier, écrivez à bdsmmh@icis.ca.
  2. Pour obtenir de l'aide concernant l'utilisation des données interactives de l'ICIS, écrivez à aide@icis.ca.
  3. Pour toutes autres questions, veuillez vous adresser à :
  4. Institut canadien d'information sur la santé
    495, chemin Richmond, bureau 600
    Ottawa (Ontario)  K2A 4H6
    Téléphone : 613-241-7860
    Télécopieur : 613-241-8120

Dernière mise à jour : 23 octobre 2014


(i). Au Canada, il n'existe pas de définition normalisée d’un hôpital psychiatrique. Aux fins du présent rapport, un hôpital psychiatrique est un établissement de soins médicaux qui dispense des services psychiatriques aux patients hospitalisés ou en consultation externe et qui a été désigné par les provinces ou par l'ICIS.

(ii). Pour les besoins de ce rapport, un hôpital général est un hôpital financé par le secteur public qui dispense essentiellement des services diagnostiques et thérapeutiques aux patients hospitalisés et aux clients souffrant d'un vaste éventail de maladies et de blessures. Les services d'un hôpital général ne se limitent pas à un groupe d'âge précis, ni à un des deux sexes. La base de sondage de la BDSMMH englobe les types d'établissements comme les hôpitaux généraux qui ne dispensent pas de programmes d'enseignement et qui disposent ou non d'unités de soins de longue durée, les hôpitaux pédiatriques, les hôpitaux généraux d'enseignement et les établissements spécialisés (établissements de traitement contre le cancer, de cardiologie, de maternité, de soins prolongés et pour maladies chroniques, les hôpitaux de réadaptation, les instituts de neurologie, les hôpitaux d'orthopédie, etc.). Veuillez communiquer avec l'ICIS pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les types d'établissements compris dans la base de sondage de la BDSMMH.