Canadian Institute for Health Information

Applications LogoApplications
Login

Products LogoProducts
Recent Releases

Print this Page

CIHI has been actively tracking information about physicians since the 1970s, allowing for a better understanding of physicians across Canada.

Using data sources such as the National Physician Database and Scott’s Medical Database, CIHI produces yearly reports and analyses. These contain wide-ranging information about physicians, including demographics and the services provided by physicians, as well as physician payment data.

CIHI works in close consultation with various ministries of health and other physician stakeholder groups. This allows CIHI to develop national standards and indicators to understand the various types of services physicians provide.

In addition, we support external research projects by providing data or collaborating with researchers to produce analyses and reports. These projects operate on a range of topics, such as health human resources planning, primary health care and disease management.

We welcome your feedback and questions

Have a data inquiry or research question? Make a custom data request.

Physician information

 Reports and analyses
 Databases and data sources
 Metadata
 Related content

Reports and analyses

Databases and data sources

The National Physician Database and Scott’s Medical Database support decision-making and research on physicians in Canada. These are updated and maintained by experts from the provincial/territorial ministries of health and various physician groups. The physician groups include

  • Canadian Medical Association
  • College of Family Physicians of Canada
  • Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada

This research community advises us on data quality, methodology and product development.

National Physician Database

The National Physician Database (NPDB) provides information on physicians’ salaries, payments and activity within the Canadian health care system. The data ranges from 1989 to 2013 (latest year available). It comes from provincial and territorial medical health care insurance plans using a standardized set of data elements.

Scott’s Medical Database

Scott’s Medical Database (SMDB) provides information on the number of physicians and their distribution across the country. It also contains demographic, education and migration information.

Because physicians can be uniquely identified, we are able to track physician movement between provinces and territories over time. This data also indicates changes in physician type. The data—ranging from 1968 to 2013—is purchased annually from Scott’s Directories.

National Physician Survey

CIHI works with

  • Canadian Medical Association
  • College of Family Physicians of Canada
  • Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada

This collaboration allows us to use information collected in the National Physician Survey (2013). This survey is the most comprehensive and authoritative survey of physicians, medical students and residents in Canada.

Metadata

Metadata is information about data. It helps users understand and interpret data from a specific source.

Find out more about metadata in the following data sources:

Imprimer cette page

Afin de mieux comprendre la profession des médecins dans l'ensemble du Canada, l'ICIS recueille de l'information sur cette profession depuis les années 1970.

Nous puisons dans des sources de données comme la Base de données nationale sur les médecins (BDNM) et la Base de données médicales Scott's (BDMS) pour produire des rapports annuels et des analyses qui contiennent un large éventail de renseignements sur les médecins, notamment :

  • les services dispensés
  • les caractéristiques démographiques des médecins
  • des données sur les paiements versés aux médecins

Nous travaillons en étroite consultation avec les ministères de la Santé et d'autres groupes d'intervenants composés de médecins. Ainsi, nous élaborons des normes nationales et des indicateurs afin de comprendre les divers types de services dispensés par les médecins.

De plus, nous appuyons des projets de recherche externe en collaborant avec les chercheurs ou en leur fournissant des données pour la production d'analyses et de rapports. Ces projets portent sur divers sujets, comme la planification des ressources humaines de la santé, les soins de santé primaires et la gestion des maladies.

Commentaires ou questions? medecins@icis.ca

Besoin de données personnalisées? Faites-en la demande.

Information sur les médecins

 Rapports et analyses
 Bases de données et sources
 Métadonnées
 Contenu connexe

Rapports et analyses

Bases de données et sources

La Base de données nationale sur les médecins et la Base de données médicales Scott's appuient la prise de décisions et la recherche sur les médecins au Canada. Elles sont mises à jour et exploitées par des experts issus des ministères provinciaux et territoriaux de la Santé et divers groupes de médecins. Les groupes de médecins comprennent

  • l'Association médicale canadienne
  • le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada
  • le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada

Cette collectivité de recherche nous conseille sur la qualité des données, la méthodologie et l'élaboration des produits.

Base de données nationale sur les médecins (BDNM)

La BDNM fournit de l’information sur le salaire des médecins, les paiements qui leur sont versés et leurs activités dans le système de santé canadien. Les données couvrent la période de 1989 à 2013 (dernière année pour laquelle des données sont disponibles). Elles sont recueillies auprès des régimes provinciaux et territoriaux d’assurance-maladie à l’aide d’un ensemble normalisé d’éléments de données.

Base de données médicales Scott’s (BDMS)

La BDMS fournit de l’information sur le nombre de médecins et leur répartition au pays. Elle contient également de l’information sur les caractéristiques démographiques, la formation et la migration des médecins.

Comme elle permet d’identifier les médecins, nous pouvons faire le suivi de leurs déplacements d’une province ou d’un territoire à l’autre au fil du temps. Les données indiquent également les changements de catégorie des médecins. L’ICIS achète chaque année les données, qui vont de 1968 à 2013, auprès des Répertoires Scott’s.

Métadonnées

Les métadonnées sont des renseignements sur les données. Elles aident les utilisateurs à comprendre et à interpréter les données d’une source précise.

Base de données nationale sur les médecins (BDNM)

Base de données médicales Scott’s (BDMS)

</body>